Chemical Technology
Principal Scientist
Organic Chemistry
01894-233339 Ext. 431

Development and application of heterogeneous nano-catalyst

Designing of new catalyst for C-C, C-X, oxidation, and reduction reactions emphasis on the stereo and enantioselectivity

Synthetic and semi-synthetic approaches for bio-active molecules

Process development for substituted cyclohexane-1,3-diones as agrochemical product

Development of green chemistry

Value addition of natural products

Tetrahedron Letters Most Cited Paper 2003-2006 Award

Post-Doctoral Fellow (2005-2007)- Umea University, Umea, Sweden

1. Hypervalent iodine promoted aromatization of exo-cyclic β- enaminones for the synthesis of meta- N,N- diarylaminophenols

Dhananjay Bhattacherjee, Vandna Thakur, Arun K.  Shil, Pralay Das

 Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017 (accepted).   DOI: 10.1002/adsc.201700004.

2. Iodine(III) Promoted Ring Contractive Cyanation of  Exocyclic β-enaminones to Cyanocyclopentanone Synthesis

Dhananjay Bhattacherjee, Vandna Thakur, Saurabh Sharma, Sandeep Kumar, Richa Bharti, C. Bal Reddy, Pralay Das

Adv. Synth. Catal.  2017 (accepted). DOI: 10.1002/adsc.201601208.

3. Supported Rhodium Nanoparticle-Catalyzed Intermolecular Regioselective Carbonylative Cyclization of Terminal Alkynes using Oxalic Acid as Sustainable C1 Source

Nitul Ranjan Guha, Vandna Thakur, Dhananjay Bhattacherjee, Richa Bharti, Pralay Das

Adv. Synth. Catal. 2016, 358, 3743-3746.

4. Supported Gold Nanoparticles-Catalyzed Microwave-Assisted Hydration of Nitriles to Amides under Base-Free Conditions

Sandeep Kumar, Saurabh Sharma, Pralay Das

Adv. Synth. Catal. 2016, 358, 2889-2894. (Highlighted in Synfacts 2016; 12(12): 1323)

5. Supported Palladium Nanoparticle-Catalyzed Carboxylation of Aryl Halides, Alkenyl-silanes, and Organoboronic Acids Employing Oxalic Acid as the C1 Source

Arun K. Shil,† Sandeep Kumar,† C. Bal Reddy, Sumit Dadhwal, Vandna Thakur, Pralay  Das (†equal contribution)

Orglett. 2015, 17, 5352-5355. (Highlighted in Synfacts 2016; 12(2): 0217)

6. Oxidative “reverse-esterification” of ethanol with benzyl/alkyl alcohols or aldehydes catalyzed by supported rhodium nanoparticles

Nitul Ranjan Guha, Saurabh Sharma, Dhananjay Bhattacherjee, Vandna Thakur, Richa Bharti, C. Bal  Reddy, Pralay Das

Green Chem., 2016, 18, 1206.

7. Polystyrene trimethyl ammonium chloride impregnated Rh(0) (Rh@PMe3NCl) as a  catalyst  and methylating agent for esterification of alcohols through selective oxidation of methanol

Nitul Ranjan Guha, Dhananjay Bhattacherjee, Pralay Das

Catal. Sci. Technol., 2015, 5, 2575–2580.

8. Solid Supported Platinum(0) Nanoparticles Catalyzed Chemoselective Reduction of Nitroarenes to N-arylhydroxylamines

Arun K Shil, Pralay Das

Green Chemistry, 2013, 15, 3421–3428.

9. Solid supported Rh(0) nano/microparticles: an efficient ligand free heterogeneous catalyst for microwave assisted Suzuki-Miyaura cross coupling reaction

Nitul Ranjan Guha, Chennayala Bal Reddy, Nidhi Aggarwal, Dharminder Sharma, Arun K Shil, Bandna, Pralay Das

Adv. Synth. Catal. 2012, 354, 2911-2915.



1. Substituted cyclohexane-1,3-dione compounds, process for preparation thereof and its applications

Pralay Das, Dharminder Sharma, Bikram Singh

WO/2011/117881, 2011.

2. New Peptidomimetic Compounds

Fredrik Almqvist, M. Sellstedt, Pralay Das

WO/2009/134203, 2009

3. 1H-Pydidine-2-one derivatives useful in treatment of PAI-1 related disorders

Fredrik Almqvist, Erik Chorell, Pralay Das, H. Emtenas, O. Fjellstrom, M.  Mogemark, M. Polla, V. Aberg

WO/2008/054290, 2008

Ph.D. Awarded:

1. Dr. Dharminder Sharma: GNDU-2013; 

2. Dr. Bandna: GIDU-2013; 

3. Dr. Arun Kumar Shil: AcSIR-2015;

4. Dr. Nitul Ranjan Guha: AcSIR-2016

Thesis Submitted:

1. Sandeep Kumar: AcSIR-2017

2. Richa Bharti: AcSIR-2017

Present Research Group:

Ph.D. Fellow: 

1. C. Bal Reddy

2. Vandna Thakur: CSIR-UGC-SRF

3. Saurabh Sharma: CSIR-UGC-SRF

4. Dhananjay Bhattacherjee: JRF-CSIR

5. Shaifali: CSIR-UGC-JRF

6. Sankar Ram: CSIR-JRF

Former members:

1. Dharminder Sharma, Assistant Professor, Arni University, Kangra, H.P.

2. Abha Chaudhary: Assistant Professor, Kurukshetra University, Haryana

3. Manish Kumar: Assistant Professor, DAV University, Jalandhar

4. Sumit Dadhwal: Ph.D. fellow, University of Otago, New Zealand

5. Nidhi Agarwal: RI up to February 2012

Powered by ChronoForms -